Humanitarian Aid & Relief

“We are a global humanitarian capital and a major relief station for every person in need. We will not be late in supporting a brother, a friend, a victim, or anyone requiring our help, wherever he or she is.”
Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum

Humanitarian services, programmes and initiatives, whether involved in developmental aid or relief campaigns, are some of MBRGI’s most important activities, reflecting the foundation’s mission to build communities, improve quality of life, and alleviate the suffering of people in need.

During the year 2016, MBRGI's reach expanded through many of its organisations and initiatives, with total expenditure on humanitarian aid and relief initiatives amounting to AED 252 million.

Moreover, the number of beneficiaries of these humanitarian aid and relief initiatives reached 22.6 million people all over the world, of which 10 million people benefitted from the multiple water aid projects implemented by UAE Water Aid (Suqia) and Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Humanitarian & Charity Establishment, including wells, pumps and water plants to provide clean water for disadvantaged communities.

International Humanitarian City, which is considered the world’s largest hub for humanitarian services, plays an active role in addressing humanitarian crises and natural and humanitarian disasters in record time with enormous financial, logistic and supply capabilities. The city, with an area of more than 1 million sq ft, includes an inventory of urgent aid worth AED 400 million, ready for delivery.

  • International Humanitarian City
  • UAE Water Aid (Suqia)
  • Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Humanitarian & Charity Establishment
  • Mohammed bin Rashid Global Centre for Endowment Consultancy
  • UAE Food Bank
AED 252 Million

spent on humanitarian aid and relief initiatives

22.6 Million beneficiaries

of humanitarian aid and relief around the world

10 Million beneficiaries

of water aid projects around the world

International Humanitarian City
The largest city for humanitarian services in the world
1.1 Million SQ FT

the total area of the International Humanitarian City

AED 400 Million

in inventory ready for delivery

Positioned For Immediate Response

Humanitarian Aid & Relief Initiatives

22.6 MILLION

beneficiaries around the world in 2016

AED 252 MILLION

spent on initiatives in 2016

International Humanitarian City

1.1 MILLION SQ FT

in total

AED 400 MILLION

in inventory ready for delivery

MBRGI has worked in all continents of the world; its intervention is spread across the five main pillars outlined in this document and covers immediate relief and long-term strategies to aid war-torn and poverty-stricken communities.

In 2016, total spending on humanitarian aid and relief initiatives totalled AED 252 million. Starting with the first response, Dubai is the home of the world’s largest humanitarian hub, located within eight hours by air of two-thirds of the world’s population.

At 1.1 million sq ft, International Humanitarian City (IHC) is more than 861,000 sq ft larger than the next biggest humanitarian city. As such, it contains AED 400 million of stock – about AED 367 million more than other centres – ready to be delivered to those who need it most.

Founded in 2003, IHC hosts members including nine United Nations agencies and 44 international humanitarian organisations. It has helped deliver assistance in some of the worst humanitarian crises of the past decade, including the 2010 Haiti earthquake, the recurring wars in Gaza, the Syrian refugee crisis in Jordan, the Ebola epidemic in West Africa, as well as the Nepal earthquake and Cyclone Pam in 2015. IHC has also carried out several evacuation operations over the years, protecting more than 600 UN staff from conflict in Afghanistan, Yemen and Egypt.

In response to the increasing need for assistance, IHC has ambitious expansion plans to triple in size by 2022. The increased space will also be home to a centre of excellence for training and innovation within the humanitarian aid sector.

Rebuilding Societies

If IHC’s role is to provide immediate relief, Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Humanitarian & Charity Establishment follows up with long-term infrastructural support and initiatives aimed at rebuilding sustainable communities.

Established in 1997, the Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Humanitarian & Charity Establishment invests in the fabric of society to help the poor, the sick, widows, orphans, the needy and distressed all around the world, as well as at home in the UAE. Its entrepreneurial programmes enable impoverished families to earn a living.

10 MILLION

beneficiaries of UAE Water Aid (Suqia) in 2016

AED 94 MILLION

invested in building schools, hospitals, residences, wells and other facilities in 2016 by Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Humanitarian & Charity Establishment

The charity has touched the lives of 1.1 million people in 2016, provided iftar for 11.5 million people fasting outside the UAE and invested AED 94 million in building schools, hospitals, homes, wells and more in 20 war-ravaged countries around the world, including AED 75 million in the Arab world.

The right to clean drinking water is also a major concern of UAE Water Aid (Suqia), which invested AED 3.6 million in wells and other charity initiatives in 2016, providing clean water to 10 million people.

This included drilling two boreholes in Ghana, in cooperation with the Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Humanitarian & Charity Establishment.
Wells are also underway in Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Benin, Mali, Mauritania, Senegal, Somalia, Tajikistan and Uganda.

UAE Water Aid (Suqia) is also involved in innovating to develop sustainable water solutions for the future.

The UAE Food Bank was launched early 2017 and added under MBRGI's umbrella as a national initiative with the aim of totally eliminating food waste. It focuses on both the distribution and production of food in the country, encouraging public-private sector cooperation in its mission to achieve zero food waste.

The food bank relies on international best practice in the fields of collecting food waste and redistributing it with the support of and in coordination with all stakeholders including suppliers, distributors, volunteers and regulators, to ensure that it achieves its ultimate objective of reducing and eliminating food waste in the most effective way.

Since its launch, the UAE Food Bank has signed agreements with 85 hotels covering hundreds of restaurants, in addition to 100 supermarkets from across the country. The bank also aims to open 30 distribution centres across the UAE within the next five years, and eventually more branches and distribution centres outside the UAE in less privileged countries in the region.

Innovative Endowments

In 2016, Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum launched Dubai’s awqaf and endowments vision and strategy, which aspires to make the UAE the country in the world most dedicated to serving humanity.

The Dubai awqaf and endowments vision and strategy is managed by the Mohammed bin Rashid Global Centre for Endowment Consultancy, which was launched in March 2016 with the goal of reviving awaqf as a development tool for the community. The centre developed an innovative model for any institution to provide endowments, regardless of its size and net worth. Institutions can link any type of assets, resources or services to the concept of innovative endowment.

Dubai’s awqaf and endowment vision and strategy aspires to make the UAE the country in the world most dedicated to serving humanity.

AED 12 BILLION

in innovative endowment assets

chart
  • 38% for knowledge and innovation
  • 29% for education
  • 21% for social services
  • 12% for other sectors

Within a year of its inception, the centre has helped various entities to launch a range of innovative endowments, with an estimated value of more than AED 12 billion for knowledge and innovation, education, social services and more.

The knowledge and innovation sector benefitted from 38% of its assets, which were dedicated to training and consulting platforms, while the education sector received 29% of assets, dedicated to funding university tuition and more.

The social services sector received 21% of assets to support medical treatment, families in need, awareness campaigns and marriage, while other sectors, including environmental programmes, youth projects and medical research, received 12%.

These innovative endowments provide community services worth AED 1 billion annually, through more than 80 initiatives that have adopted the ‘waqf’ model.

“We opened the doors to being the most supportive nation for endowments for the service of humanity.”
Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum

المساعدات الإنسانية والإغاثية

”نحن عاصمة إنسانية عالمية، ومحطة غوث رئيسية لكل محتاج.. لا نتأخر في دعم الشقيق، والصديق، والمنكوب، والمحتاج أينما كان“
محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم

تعد الخدمات والبرامج والمبادرات الإنسانية، سواء في إطار مساعدات تنموية أو حملات إغاثية، من أهم مرتكزات عمل مبادرات محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم العالمية التي تعكس رسالتها الساعية إلى بناء المجتمعات وتحسين نوعية الحياة ورفع المعاناة عن الفقراء والمحتاجين والمنكوبين.

في العام 2016 شهد نشاط المؤسسة توسعاً، من خلال العديد من مؤسساتها ومبادراتها، حيث بلغ حجم الإنفاق الكلي على مبادرات المساعدات الإنسانية والإغاثية 252 مليون درهم.

إلى ذلك، بلغ عدد المستفيدين من هذه المبادرات الإنسانية والإغاثية 22.6 مليون شخص في مختلف أنحاء العالم، من بينهم 10 ملايين شخص استفادوا من مشاريع المياه المتعددة التي نفذتها مؤسسة سقيا الإمارات ومؤسسة محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم للأعمال الإنسانية والخيرية، كالآبار والمضخات ومحطات المياه، لتوفير الماء الصالح للشرب في المجتمعات المحرومة.

كما تقوم المدينة العالمية للخدمات الإنسانية، التي تعد أكبر تجمع للخدمات الإنسانية في العالم، بدور فاعل في التصدي للأزمات الإنسانية والكوارث الطبيعية والبشرية في وقت قياسي من خلال إمكانات مادية ولوجستية وتموينية هائلة؛ حيث تضم المدينة، البالغة مساحتها أكثر من مليون قدم مربع، مخزون مساعدات عاجلة جاهزة للتسليم بقيمة 400 مليون درهم.

  • المدينة العالمية للخدمات الإنسانية
  • سقيا الإمارات
  • مؤسسة محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم للأعمال الخيرية والإنسانية
  • مركز محمد بن راشد العالمي لاستشارات الوقف والهبة
  • بنك الإمارات للطعام
252 مليون درهم

حجم الإنفاق على مبادرات المساعدات الإنسانية و الإغاثية في 2016

22.6 مليون شخص

عدد المستفيدين من مبادرات المساعدات الإنسانية و الإغاثية حول العالم في 2016

10 ملايين شخص

عدد المستفيدين من مشاريع سقيا الماء حول العالم في 2016

المدينة العالمية للخدمات الإنسانية
أكبر تجمع للخدمات الإنسانية في العالم
1.1 مليون قدم مربع

المساحة الإجمالية للمدينة العالمية للخدمات الإنسانية

400 مليون درهم

قيمة المخزون الجاهز للتسليم

إغاثة عاجلة واستراتيجيات طويلة الأمد

مبادرات المساعدات الإنسانية والإغاثية

252 مليون درهم

حجم الإنفاق في 2016

22.6 مليون شخص

عدد المستفيدين حول العالم في 2016

المدينة العالمية للخدمات الإنسانية

1.1 مليون قدم مربع

المساحة الإجمالية

400 مليون درهم

قيمة المخزون الجاهز للتسليم

يمتدّ نشاط مبادرات محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم العالمية على المحاور الرئيسية الخمسة الموضحة في هذا التقرير. ويشمل محور المساعدات الإنسانية والإغاثية تقديم الإغاثة العاجلة في حالات الطوارئ والكوارث، بالإضافة إلى وضع الاستراتيجيات طويلة الأمد لتقديم مختلف المساعدات الإنسانية والتنموية والمجتمعية لمساعدة المجتمعات التي تعاني من الفقر والأوبئة والحروب. وفي العام 2016 ، بلغ إجمالي حجم الإنفاق على مبادرات المساعدات الإنسانية والإغاثية 252 مليون درهم.

وتحتضن دبي المدينة العالمية للخدمات الإنسانية التي تعدّ أكبر تجمع للخدمات الإنسانية في العالم، حيث تقع على بعد 8 ساعات جواً من ثلثي سكان العالم.

تبلغ مساحة المدينة العالمية للخدمات الإنسانية 1.1 مليون قدم مربع، متفوقةً بذلك على ثاني أكبر المدن الإنسانية في العالم، بأكثر من 861 ألف قدم مربع. وتضم المدينة ما قيمته 400 مليون درهم إماراتي من المخزون الجاهز للتسليم للمحتاجين في أي وقت، وهو ما يفوق قيمة المخزون في المراكز الأخرى بنحو 367 مليون درهم.

وتستضيف المدينة العالمية للخدمات الإنسانية، التي أنشئت في العام 2003 ، تسع وكالات تابعة للأمم المتحدة و 44 منظمة إنسانية دولية. وساهمت المدينة في توفير المساعدات وخدمات الإغاثة لمواجهة بعض أسوأ الأزمات الإنسانية في العقد الماضي، بما في ذلك زلزال هايتي في العام 2010 ، والحروب في غزة، وأزمة اللاجئين السوريين في الأردن، ووباء إيبولا في غرب أفريقيا، بالإضافة إلى زلزال نيبال وإعصار بام في العام 2015 . ونفذّت المدينة العالمية للخدمات الإنسانية عدداً كبيراً من عمليات الإجلاء على مدى السنوات الماضية، كما وفّرت الحماية لأكثر من 600 موظف يتبعون للأمم المتحدة خلال النزاعات الدائرة في أفغانستان واليمن ومصر.

ولتلبية الحاجة المتزايدة لتقديم المساعدات، تمتلك المدينة العالمية للخدمات الإنسانية خططاً طموحة للتوسع، حيث تتطلع إلى مضاعفة حجمها بمقدار ثلاث مرات بحلول العام 2022 . وسوف تستضيف المساحة الإضافية مركزاً للتميز والتدريب والابتكار في قطاع المساعدات الإنسانية.

إعادة بناء مجتمعات مستدامة

إذا كان دور المدينة العالمية للخدمات الإنسانية يتمثّل في توفير الإغاثة العاجلة، فإن مؤسسة محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم للأعمال الخيرية والإنسانية تقوم بعملها من خلال خطط طويلة الأمد لدعم البنية التحتية وتبنّي مبادرات تستهدف إعادة بناء مجتمعات مستدامة.

منذ تأسيسها في العام 1997 ، تسعى مؤسسة محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم للأعمال الخيرية والإنسانية إلى تحسين الواقع المجتمعي من خلال مساعدة الفقراء والمرضى والأرامل والأيتام والمحرومين والمنكوبين في مختلف أنحاء العالم وداخل الدولة. وتعمل برامجها الخاصة بريادة الأعمال، على سبيل المثال، على تمكين الأسر المعوزة للحصول على قوتها اليومي.

10 ملايين شخص

عدد المستفيدين من مبادرات
سقيا الماء في 2016

94 مليون درهم

الاستثمار في بناء مدارس ومستشفيات ومساكن وآبار ومرافق أخرى في 2016 من قبل مؤسسة محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم للأعمال الخيرية والإنسانية

في العام 2016 ، قدّمت المؤسسة المساعدة في شتى المجالات الخيرية والإنسانية ل 1.1 مليون شخص، وقدمت وجبات الإفطار ل 11.5 مليون صائم خارج دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، كما استثمرت 94 مليون درهم في بناء مدارس ومستشفيات ومساكن وآبار ومرافق أخرى، في 20 دولة حول العالم مزقتها الحروب، بما في ذلك 75 مليون درهم في العالم العربي.

ويعتبر الحق في الحصول على مياه شرب نظيفة مسألة حيوية لمؤسسة سقيا الإمارات التي استثمرت 3.6 ملايين درهم في الآبار وغيرها من مبادرات إنسانية خلال العام 2016 ، مما ساهم في توفير المياه النظيفة ل 10 ملايين شخص.

وشمل ذلك حفر بئرين في غانا بالتعاون مع مؤسسة محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم للأعمال الخيرية والإنسانية. ويجري العمل حالياً على حفر آبار في أفغانستان وبنغلاديش وبنين ومالي وموريتانيا والسنغال والصومال وطاجيكستان وأوغندا.

كما تسهم سقيا الإمارات في الابتكارات الهادفة إلى إيجاد حلول مستدامة لتوفير المياه للمستقبل من خلال العديد من المشاريع الريادية والمبتكرة.

ومن المجالات الإنسانية التي تدخل في نطاق اهتمامات مبادرات محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم العالمية توفير التعليم للمناطق الفقيرة والمنكوبة. وبينما يُعتبر التعليم محوراً قائماً بحد ذاته، فإن مؤسسة دبي العطاء تنظر إلى التعليم في حالات الطوارئ بوصفه عنصراً خاصاً من عناصر الإغاثة الإنسانية.

في مطلع العام 2017 ، انضم بنك الإمارات للطعام إلى مبادرات محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم العالمية، كأكبر منظومة من نوعها لجمع فائض الطعام وحفظه وإعادة توزيعه، للمساهمة في تخفيف العبء عن عدد كبير من الفئات المحتاجة والأقل حظاً في المجتمع.

ويعتمد بنك الإمارات للطعام أفضل الممارسات الدولية في آليات جمع الطعام الفائض وتوزيعه في إطار خطة منهجية تضمن تنسيقاً وتكاملاً بين جهود الأطراف المعنية، من موردين وموزعين ومتطوعين وجهات رقابية على نحو يكفل أن يحقق البنك رسالته الإنسانية التي تتمثل في ترسيخ ثقافة العطاء في المجتمع ومساعدة المحتاجين، بموازاة ترسيخ قيم بيئية مستدامة تنطلق من الحفاظ على الموارد وتقليل الهدر.

ومنذ إطلاقه حتى اليوم، عقد بنك الإمارات للطعام شراكات مع أكثر من 85 منشأة فندقية تضم عشرات المطاعم بالإضافة إلى أكثر من 100 محل سوبرماركت في مختلف أنحاء دولة الإمارات. ويتطلع بنك الإمارات للطعام لافتتاح 30 مركز توزيع له في مختلف أنحاء الدولة في السنوات الخمس المقبلة، قبل أن يفتح فروعاً ومراكز توزيع خارج الدولة وتحديداً في المجتمعات المنكوبة والأقل حظاً.

الوقف المبتكر

خلال العام 2016 ، أطلق صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي رؤية دبي العالمية للأوقاف والهبات، التي تهدف إلى إعادة إحياء الوقف وتحويل دبي إلى مركز عالمي لتحفيز وتمكين الأوقاف والهبات لخدمة الإنسانية. وتطمح دبي رؤية دبي العالمية للأوقاف والهبات إلى جعل الإمارات أكثر الدول تخصيصاً للوقف في خدمة الإنسانية.

ويتولى إدارة استراتيجية دبي للأوقاف والهبات مركز محمد بن راشد العالمي لاستشارات الوقف والهبة، الذي تم إطلاقه في مارس 2016 بهدف إعادة إحياء الوقف كأداة تنموية للمجتمع، حيث صمم المركز نموذج الوقف المبتكر لإتاحة الوقف لجميع فئات المجتمع والمؤسسات مهما كان حجمها، وعدم اقتصاره على أصحاب الثروات الكبيرة، إذ يمكن للمؤسسات ربط أي نوع من الأصول أو الموارد أو الخدمات بمفهوم الوقف المبتكر.

تطمح رؤية دبي العالمية للأوقاف والهبات إلى جعل الإمارات أكثر الدول تخصيصاً للوقف في خدمة الإنسانية.

12 مليار درهم

القيمة التقديرية لأصول الوقف المبتكر

chart
  • 38% أوقاف المعرفة والابتكار
  • 29% أوقاف التعليم
  • 21% أوقاف الحياة الاجتماعية
  • 12% أوقاف أخرى

وخلال عام من إطلاقه، عمل مركز محمد بن راشد العالمي لاستشارات الوقف والهبة على مساعدة الجهات المختلفة في إطلاق مجموعة من الأوقاف المبتكرة، تبلغ القيمة التقديرية لأصولها أكثر من 12 مليار درهم، تغطي قطاع المعرفة والابتكار وقطاع التعليم وقطاع الحياة الاجتماعية وقطاعات أخرى.

وتركزت نسبة % 38 من أصول الوقف المبتكر في قطاع المعرفة والابتكار، من خلال إطلاق أوقاف مبتكرة للتدريب والاستشارات وبرامج المعرفة والابتكار والثقافة، بينما حاز قطاع التعليم على % 29 من الأصول، حيث شمل أوقافاً مبتكرة لتمويل المقاعد الجامعية، ودفع رسوم المدارس ومستلزماتها، وبرامج جودة التعليم. أما قطاع الحياة الاجتماعية فاستحوذ على % 21 من خلال أوقاف مبتكرة لدعم العلاج والأسر المحتاجة والحملات التوعوية والزواج، في حين حصلت قطاعات أخرى على % 12 ، وشمل ذلك أوقافاً للبرامج البيئية، ومشروعات الشباب وثقافة الطفل، والأبحاث الطبية.

وتقوم هذه الأوقاف المبتكرة بتقديم خدمات مجتمعية توازي قيمتها المليار درهم، بشكل سنوي، من خلال أكثر من 80 مبادرة تبنّت نموذج الوقف المبتكر.

”إن مساعدتنا تحمل أهدافاً إنسانية فقط، لا تحكمها السياسة، ولا تحدها الجغرافيا، ولا يُنقص منها عرق أو لون أو دين للجهة المستفيدة“
محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم